I Was McRibbed By McDonald’s Legend of Contest

Recently,  I decided to try my hands at a online video contest.

The one that grabbed my attention was McDonald’s “Legend of McRib Contest”, where you come up with your origin of  “The McRib”.

I shot a story where a man (played by me) tells a young’un about his Grand Pappy McRib.

After shot it, I uploaded it to the McDonald’s site and I knew something was wrong because the video took about 45 minutes to upload, (in contrast I uploaded  the same video on Youtube and Funny or Die the same day and both took less than 8 minutes to upload). 

After the long upload, I then filled out my contact information and message appeared on Mc’D’s site saying that my video would be up in 24 hours.

Four days later and no video.

In fact, I still see many of the same videos that were on the site when I uploaded my video.

Since uploading my video, I realized that I never received a confirmation email from McDonalds’s telling me my video was either uploaded ot not.

I tweeted McDonald’s several times about this matter to their Twitter feed(@McDonalds) and I never recieved a reponse.

While I give McDonad’s kudos for their social media idea, maybe they should have utilized Youtube to host their contest.

Given YouTube’s success with contests with various companies, some of these problems like long upload time and confiramtion emails would have been a non-issue.

If there was problem, I would think YouTube would act quickly, which creates great customer service and goodwill for them and the contest’s sponsors.

Take a look my video entry for the “Legend of McRib”

About Kevin Lockett

Pop Culture loving, Digital Media championing, content creating dude from Akron. Reach me at Lockettmedia@gmail.com or Twitter.com/kevinlockett
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Was McRibbed By McDonald’s Legend of Contest

  1. Pingback: Ludacris/ Magnum Condoms Contest Offers BIG YouTube Opporunity « Kevin Lockett's Social Media Blog |Akron

  2. Pingback: What are your Soical and Digital Media Resoultions for 2012? « KevinLockett.com | "A Cool Slant on Social & Digital Media"

Leave a Reply

