Ludacris/ Magnums Contest Offers BIG YouTube Opporunity

I was bopping around in my rusty, but dependable white chariot ( better known as the Geo Prism), when I heard rapper/actor Ludacis announcing a contest that I would never hear or see during Dancing With The Stars.

Luda announced that for the second year in a row he and Trojan condoms were was looking for five emcees for the Magnum Live Large Project 2  ((Magnums are a brand of condoms made by Trojan).  There will be  four regional winners off line, but one will be chosen from the YouTube portion of the contest.

While contests like this one are usually promoted only online, MLLP2  is unique because Ludacris also connected  with his fans on the radio. While radio isn’t  as big as it was, there has been reports that radio listenership has increased

While advertising online is still a cheaper way to go,  if you have the funds and you know that your target market, radio is still a viable option. Also,  given that this the second annual contest, this can only mean that the first  Magnum Live Large Project  had plenty of submissions. 

Niche oriented  contests like MLLP2 , reminds me of my mom.

When  I  was growing up, my mom consistently entered contests using postcards.

She didn’t win all the time, but she won more  than most because  she  took the time to send in a  postcard, (she won things like a trip Houston Oliers in Houston,  a stereo system  and a pair of L.A. Gears’ sneakers  that I think I’m still wearing today).

My mom used little tricks like putting stickers are her postcards, so she had a better chance of having her postcard chosen;  But even if she didn’t do that, she at least took the chance to win where many others didn’t think they had a shot at all.

The same can be said about video contests.

On a daily basis, websites like Online Video Contests  and vidopp, routinely lists online contests for amateurs and professionals. The cash payouts are usually pretty good and most contests gives you a plenty of time to enter, (quite honestly I’ve seen some of the cheapest videos win big prizes over really great looking videos).

Earlier this year, I wrote how I entered McDonald’s McRib Contest and even though that didn’t work out, I tried again as I attempted to become  Ashton Kutcher’s VP of Pop Culture.

Although I wasn’t selected,  I noticed that there were little over three hundred who entered the contest. This low number of entrants gave me a better chance of  becoming Ashton’s veep than the millions standing in to become the next American Idol.

Some of the  downsides of online contests is that if it’s up to the people to vote, sometimes the person with the marketing campaign ends up getting the most votes than the ones who might be better, but does not have the votes to win.  

Also, if your video is being judged by  panel, you might lose because of person’s specific taste. It doesn’t mean your video was bad, it just didn’t appeal that specific panel of judges.  

However, just like my mom with her  postcards, even if you lose once contest,  the opportunity to win is so much greater because very few people will take the  time  to upload a video.

I guess for the Luda and Magnum condoms contest, I need to dust off my rap skills huh?

(Have you ever entered  and won an online contest? What was your experience like? What are other video contest do you use? )

About Kevin Lockett

Pop Culture loving, Digital Media championing, content creating dude from Akron. Reach me at Lockettmedia@gmail.com or Twitter.com/kevinlockett
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ludacris/ Magnums Contest Offers BIG YouTube Opporunity

  1. Hey man, was just browsing through the internet looking for some information and came across your blog. I am impressed by the information that you have on this blog. It shows how well you understand this subject.

  2. Buck Masias says:

    Hey there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Exceptional blog and amazing design.

  3. Mui Macrina says:

    Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one? Thanks a lot!

  4. slocket says:

    Thank you Buck and Marcelino for stopping by the site. I’m glad you enjoy the comment. If you have any ideas for the blog or if you want to write a guest post, let me.

Leave a Reply

