R.I.P: A Eulogy for Flip Camera 2007-2011

 

On this day, Tuesday, April 12, 2011, let’s join together to say goodbye to our dear friend Flip Camera, affectionately known as Flip Cam.

I sure you will agree that Flip Cam made our lives much easier in ways never thought possible, especially for those of us who had limited funds and others who had a limited eye for shooting video.

I was first introduced to Flip Cam from a dear mutual friend that most of you know named EBay.

 I didn’t know what to make of Flip Cam at first; How can this small package compete with the other cams that were so much bigger.  There is no way Flip Cam could have the same quality as the others.

I was quickly proved wrong.  Though not as big as the others, Flip Cam was just as powerful.

When we connected it was like Martin Scorsese meeting Robert DeNiro for the first time; it was pure magic. 

While the other cams were bigger and had more bells and whistles, Flip Cam did more with less and unlike the others; Flip Cam was always ready to go.

Flip Cam was with me as I followed the Obama –McCain presidential battle in Ohio from Akron to Canton to Cleveland, back to Akron. Flip Cam was with me every step of the way.

We were together the following year too at LeBron James Bike-a-Thon when the City of Cleveland still loved the former King of the Cleveland Cavaliers.  Though I did not know it at the time, Flip Cam became my best friend and I’m sure many of you feel the same.

In recent years, I noticed internal glitches slowed my best friend down to the point where we could not travel gather anymore. Though hurtful, it was best for the both of us that we move on from each other.

So imagine my shock when I learned Flip Cam killed by Cisco Systems; A senseless ending for a small powerful package that was still growing, learning how to find its way in a world of advanced cams.

Though tragic, we are not here to be sad, but celebrating our departed friend’s existence.

Flip Cam has changed our lives forever and its technological spirit will live on in its decedents the Xacti, Sony Bloggie, Kodak ZX,  iTouch, iPhone, the smart phone  and many others that will follow.

Though it is a mournful day, somewhere Flip Cam is looking down from HD heaven, pointing and shooting powerful us from the clouds above, just like it did when we shared our time together a short time ago.

R.I.P Flip Camera 2007-2011

If there is anybody who would like to talk about their experience with Flip Cam, please post comments below, I’m sure our dear friend would appreciate

About Kevin Lockett

Pop Culture loving, Digital Media championing, content creating dude from Akron. Reach me at Lockettmedia@gmail.com or Twitter.com/kevinlockett
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to R.I.P: A Eulogy for Flip Camera 2007-2011

  1. Ali says:

    I also use the beloved flip cam. It will be greatly missed when mine gives up the ghost. It’s taken quite a beating and is still going strong so I will hope for the best.

Leave a Reply

