I’ll Tumble 4 Ya! Tumblr Has More Blogs Than WordPress.com!!

 I bounced over to Mashable today, where I came across a post that said “Tumblr Now Has More Blogs Than WordPress.com”.   

The post by Sarah Kessler stated that “In January, Tumblr had more than 7 million individual blogs…the total blog ticker on its site read about three times that at 20,873,182 — beating out WordPress.com’s current count by about 85,000 blogs.”

This is astounding to me because outside of setting up Ping.fm to allow my tweets to go to my Tumblr page, I rarely use it.

After reading the post,  I decided to do my own research using Comptete.com (which monitors online performance) , where I typed in Tumblr, WordPress and Blogger to see which one had the most unique visitors.

As of May 20, 2011: Blogger had 6, 441, 983 unique viewers, WordPress came in at 12, 991, 657 and Tumblr had a mighty  35, 501, 635!

Although Blogger finished at the bottom of the heap, I still use it mainly because it was the first blog platform I started using back in 2008  and at that time, I thought WordPress was far more diffcult to use.

I really didn’t start using WordPress until this past year when I launched this blog. Now, I love WordPress, even though I still  use Blogger for my daily pop culture blog “Music is My Soul” .

This is not to say I am anti-Tumblr… on the contrary.

Although I don’t use it often, Tumblr’s easy use reminds me of Blogger quite a bit and if I was new to the social media game, I would probably use Tumblr before WordPress or Blogger, not only because of its easy use, but like WordPress , Tumblr’s themes impressive looking than Blogger.

For my active Tumblrs out there, why do you like using it?  Is it the themes, the easy use, etc.

If you don’t use Tumblr, what blogging platform do you use?

Do you use the same one from when you first started or did you switch to another platform when you became a more proficient blogger?

About Kevin Lockett

Pop Culture loving, Digital Media championing, content creating dude from Akron. Reach me at Lockettmedia@gmail.com or Twitter.com/kevinlockett
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

