Did My Twitter Newspaper Title Really Plagarize an Agency’s Name?

So there I was catching up with my DVR of the previous airing of All Children, when I read this subject headline on my email “2nd Request: Plagiarism”. I stopped the new triangle of Tad,Dixie and Cara and I began to read the message:

Hey Kevin,
This is my second email asking you to stop using my company’s name  or any shortened version of it i.e “I AM PR”
I didn’t give you permission to do so!
Get back to me asap!
This email stems from the fact that a few months ago, I set up a Twitter newspaper on Paper.li called “I Am PR”.
The paper features paper relations news from various twitter feeds and hashtags using PR.
I have set up quite a few newspapers on Paper.li ranging from Comic Con to House Music to Social Media news  and quite often my Twitter newspapers are re-tweeted many times over.
When I set up the I Am PR Twitter newspaper, I didn’t think I was plagiarizing anyone, I just wanted to give my paper a cool name.  Believe me, If I knew I was “plagiarizing”  the I am PR Agency  in New York, I would have chosen another name.
However, since I don’t want to stop another episode of  All My Children after reading an  email  message saying “3rd Request: Plagiarism: Court Date with Judge Judy Coming Soon”,  I am going to change the  newspaper to PR NOW, (if you have a better suggestion for name let me now).
The interesting thing is that one the stories in the “I Am PR” newspaper came from her blog, which could have given gave her blog and her company some more traffic…funny huh?
But tell me, do you think I plagiarised the name agency’s name  or did the agency overreact?
About Kevin Lockett

Pop Culture loving, Digital Media championing, content creating dude from Akron. Reach me at Lockettmedia@gmail.com or Twitter.com/kevinlockett
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Did My Twitter Newspaper Title Really Plagarize an Agency’s Name?

  1. Mero says:

    Thanks for really good post. Best regards.

  2. Interesting post. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

