Become Paul Revere 2.0! Tell Everyone You Have a Blog To Increase SEO

It’s funny when I read job postings for a social media positions where it says, “MUST ALSO KNOW SEO”.

Although I know a few aspects of SEO aka  Search Engine Optimization (which basically improves the  traffic of your website/blog) ), I am a social media person through and through, meaning I create content and ideas, not analyzing algorithms.

Expecting a social media person to be an expert in SEO is like asking a dentist if they can also deliver a baby.  

Sure the dentist can do it, but that’s his or her expertise, (Mam your baby have a lovely smile, but is head shaped like a Chicken McNugget).

However, over the years I have picked up some SEO tricks that have helped me build traffic on my various blogs, so I decided to give you a few McNuggets that could be beneficial to increase your traffic:

1.) Ping Me Baby!  Submit your blog to online tools like Pingomatic or  Pingoat, which will notify all the major blog directories that your blogs exist. This doesn’t guarantee major increase traffic immediately but it puts you in the game for your blog to be seen.

2.) Content, Content, Content! You don’t become a successful blogger overnight,  it takes time, energy and content. It doesn’t matter if it’s written, pictures or videos, the more content you have, the better the opportunity have to find your blog on search engines.

3.) Tag You’re it!  Place at  5-10 releveant tags on your blog. Use Google Adwords Keyword Tool Box to find words that will make your blog post a lot more searchbale.

4.) Become Paul Revere 2.0! Paul Revere was famous for saying “The British is Coming, The British is Coming”! Use that same mindset in 2011 to promote your blog.

Tell everyone you know, put it on your business card, promote your blog on social networks like Facebook, Twitter, MySpace, etc. , place your link on your greeting cards put it on T-shirts, mugs, get a tattoo!

 Do everything you can online and offline to let people know that you have a blog, (but make sure your neck tattoo isn’t permanent, you don’t want to be that guy that still has “Pets.com 4 Life” on his neck).

Like I said before, I am nowhere near the SEO expert , but I do know content and social media, so hopefully some of my tips can help you increase your traffic in 2012 and beyond.

What tactics have you used to increase your blog’s traffic?

About Kevin Lockett

Pop Culture loving, Digital Media championing, content creating dude from Akron. Reach me at Lockettmedia@gmail.com or Twitter.com/kevinlockett
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Become Paul Revere 2.0! Tell Everyone You Have a Blog To Increase SEO

  1. I truly find this a interesting subject. Never looked at this subject in this manner. If you are planning to create more articles relating to this subject, I definitely will be back in the near future!
    Heart Healthy Diet

  2. small cars says:

    love this site – it’s a great blog – may i suggest you get an rss feed.

    • slocket says:

      There was one listed, but I just changed my blog’s theme, so the RSS feed can be easier to find. Thanks for the sugguestion!

  3. Very informative post. Thanks for taking the time to share your view with us.

  4. Normally I don’t read article on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to try and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, very great post.

  5. lsat sample questions here, I’m a newer blogger. I was wondering as to how you keep your site loading so quick. I’m having problems with pages loading slowly. You can e-mail me at Peugh@reviewtable.gov. Thanks and superb webpage.

  6. I’ve been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or blog posts in this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this site. Reading this information So i am happy to express that I have a very good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I such a lot surely will make certain to do not forget this web site and give it a look regularly.

  7. Pingback: Elektrische Zahnbuerste

  8. uti home remedies here, I’m a newer blogger. I was curious as to how you moderate all the comments your website gets. I’m having issues staying ahead of them all. You can email me at Mckneely@aol.com. Thanks and great post.

  9. I was recommended this website by means of my cousin. I am no longer positive whether or not this publish is written by way of him as nobody else recognize such precise approximately my difficulty. You’re incredible! Thanks!

  10. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice at the same time as you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a weblog site? The account aided me a applicable deal. I were tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided brilliant transparent concept

  11. Your article piqued my interest in ways no article has in a while. I think your unique points make sense and all are certainly interesting. Thank you for interesting content. http://www.samsung1080phdtv.net/

  12. Eduard says:

    Hiya, nice blog!! Man .. Amazing.. I’ll bookmark your websites and take the webdesign? I am happy to seek out a lot of useful information right here within the submit, we’d like work out more techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing.

  13. Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all folks you really recognise what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also seek advice from my website =). We could have a link exchange arrangement among us

  14. Pingback: Urn

Leave a Reply

