Radio Shack Clerk Told Me To “Google It”

So during the hustle and bustle of Thanksgiving and Black Friday, I lost my Sirius XM radio.

As I was going through Howard Stern withdrawal, I decided to stop by Radio Shack because I remembered seeing a  Sirius XM radio on sale.

There were several radios at Radio Shack, but only one had a price.

When I asked the clerk about the specifics about the radio, she didn’t know the answer and then told me to Google info or find it on Wikipedia.

WTF???

Now she wasn’t being mean or sarcastic, but I wondered how many people were told the same thing and decided to make a purchase someplace else where they didn’t have to the Google the answer?

(This was the second time I had an issue with Radio Shack.  A few weeks ago I bought a Virgin Optimus Slider, but the clerks debated to me that the phone wasn’t on sale, until I made them look at the ad!!??)

When I was in college, I worked at a hybrid music/video store called Hot Tracks.

If someone asked us a question about album or video at least one of us would have the answer. Much like The John Cusack film “High Fidelity” , we were music and movie geeks working in music store and I truly believe that our new and REPEAT customers we’re happy for our expertise and we enjoyed imparting our geek-dom onto them.

Sadly, I’ve seen more of the former in recent years, where more and more store clerks  are collecting checks while displaying  very little knowledge about the store or their products.

The Apple Store is a great  example of a place where their employees seem to be quite knowledgeable about their iProducts.

 Even if you are knowledgeable about Apple products like the MacBook Pro, their clerks are educated enough in Apple-ese to tell you some nuisances that you might not know,  (could you even imagine what Steve Jobs would have done to an Apple Store employee if he heard they told  a customer to Google information on the iPad???)

As a person who is looking for a full-time job in digital media, I know it is tough to find a full-time job and I don’t want to see the young lady who told me to Google the Sirius XM radio at Radio Shack to lose hers; however,  wouldn’t it be wise for Radio Shacks store managers as well as their executives  make sure they hire people who might not be tech geeks, but at least know enough where I don’t have to do the work for them?

Have you ever been in a store where you knew more than the employees? What happened?

About Kevin Lockett

Pop Culture loving, Digital Media championing, content creating dude from Akron. Reach me at Lockettmedia@gmail.com or Twitter.com/kevinlockett
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Radio Shack Clerk Told Me To “Google It”

  1. Konnichiwa from Japan. I am practicing my English and arrived to this page just to say how much I respect reading it everytime you post. Could you please message me the next time you blog. My email is Fiddler150@ymail.com . Thanks

  2. Hi, i feel that i saw you visited my weblog thus i came to go back the want?.I am trying to find things to improve my web site!I guess its good enough to make use of a few of your ideas!!

Leave a Reply

