Do You Spend Too Much Time on Social Networks?

“To me, that sounds unhealthy.”

That’s what  Twitter co-founder Biz Stone recently told a Montreal audience recently that “spending up to 12 hours a day on the platform is not necessarily a great idea”  according to Mashable.

Isn’t there a joke that says if you with Tweet all the time you go blind? O

K that’s something else, but the same rules apply.

As great social networks are, I do think as a society we so spend too much times looking at a screen, while sacrificing face to face interaction ion person.

But who am I to talk?

When I am watching TV, there are times that I am constantly checking my Twitter. Then I have to rewind my DVR because I missed a crucial scene  of Law and Order SVU?!?

Information is great.

I love information.

Finding information and sending it to my friends, fans and family members gives me great joy.

However, there are moments when I look around and I lost hours of my life looking at Facebook, Twitter, blogs and websites.

Instead of staring at my Asus laptop, maybe I could have used that time to begin working out or take some salsa lessons or visit a friend instead of sending a DM on Twitter.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the this new digital age.

I love how I can connect with old friends or make new ones in other cities, states and countries.

I love how the world has now shrunken to a point where content and distribution is now a lot more accessible.

Where I no longer have to wait for a magazine to pick up my submitted article on social media.

All I have to do now is make a YouTube video, podcast or write an article post it  on WordPress or Blogger and anyone in Akron,  New York or Africa can read my work  anytime of the day.

But are we spending too much time scrolling, typing , sending and recording?

Recently , George Clooney was on  “NPR’s All Things Considered“,   discussing his Best Actor nominated role in “The Descendents” when he said ,”I think people are experiencing less and recording more.”

He mentioned that we was at a function with Brad Pitt when a person pulled out their camera and recorded the their interaction with “Money Ball” star.

“You can tell people that you recorded Brad Pitt, but it would be very hard for you to say you actually met him, because you were watching it all through your phone,” Clooney noted.

Clooney’s statement of “I think people are experiencing less and recording more,” still sticks to me even as I write this post.

As much as I love Twitter, I don’t want my tombstone to say “He Re-Tweeted a Lot”!?!

So in 2012, I’m going to try my best to  Tweet less and live life more.

Its going to be a struggle because I love media and content.

But I want to be in a place where digital to be a major part of my life, not the majority.

What about you?

Do you spend too much time on social networks?

How much time do spend ?

Has it hurt your social life or enhanced it?

About Kevin Lockett

Pop Culture loving, Digital Media championing, content creating dude from Akron. Reach me at Lockettmedia@gmail.com or Twitter.com/kevinlockett
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do You Spend Too Much Time on Social Networks?

  1. Pingback: Instant Password Recovery For Email, Social Networks, And More! | Digital Products List

  2. Pingback: torrent

Leave a Reply

